Wk 5 – Activity – Identity Art

For this week’s activity, we had to wear something out of ordinary and ask people what they think our name and major is. I decided to dress up as my alter ego, Chet. Chet is a stereotypical frat boy who likes to speaks an octave lower than his natural tone of voice. He also wears polos with popped collars, above the knee shorts, and a backwards hat and shades at all times of the day.

Just to add some background information, I am in a fraternity and have often noticed how differently I am treated by others whenever I wear my greek letters. This was a fun and interactive way to be an amplified and exaggerated version of what people mistake me for.

I roamed the Parkside residential college during dinner time when there was a good amount of traffic and approached several people as my alter ego. When asked about my name, I had guesses such as Brad, Matt, Josh, and Tristan. Most of the people I approached guessed my major to be Communications, Business, and even Advertisement. No one really took me seriously or attempted to have a genuine conversation with me. Most people were snickering or wanted to end the conversation as soon as possible.

Overall, this activity was definitely one of my favorite activities so far. I enjoyed witnessing the reactions of other people when I approached and spoke to them.

This is regular Alan.

This is regular Alan.

This is Chet.

This is Chet.

photo 1 (7)

Leave a Reply

